The folders are listed alphabetically (except for standard folders like Inbox and Trash) in a familiar folder tree to the left in the Webmail window. The folder hierarchy can be expanded to show sub-folders by clicking the + sign in front of the folder name, or by clicking the “Expand all” icon at the top of the folder list.
Next to each folder name you can see the number of new (unread) messages as well as the total number of messages the folder contains.
Click the Folders header to get an overview page displaying all folders, their sizes, and the number of messages each contains. In the Folders screen you can also reorganize your folders by dragging and dropping sub-folders to other folders.
Note: You can only Delete folders in the Folder Management screen. Click on “Folders” at the top of the folder list, or “Folder Management” above the folder actions buttons below the folder list.
There are 5 standard folders that all accounts contain and that you cannot delete, namely Drafts, Inbox, Sent, Spam, Templates, and Trash. These folders can be found at the top of the folder list, and work as follows:
- Drafts contains drafts of messages you’re currently working on. When composing a new message, a draft is automatically saved on the server every 30 seconds (only in Enhanced mode), and when you click [Save draft] in the Compose screen. This is convenient if you start writing a message and want to finish it and send it at a later time. Note that drafts that are deleted will be permanently removed and not moved to the Trash folder like regular messages.
- Inbox is where all incoming email is stored (unless you have any settings on the Filter level in Manager directing email somewhere else). The email will remain here until you decide to move it to another folder or delete it.
- Sent contains all the messages you have sent using Webmail, provided you have chosen to save all outgoing messages on the Preferences page.
- Spam stores all incoming email caught by the spam filter, and messages you have reported as spam by using the [Report spam] button in other folders. To move a legitimate message from the Spam folder and correct the trainable spam filter, check the box next to the message(s) and click the [Not spam] button.
- Templates contains templates if you have saved any messages as such. See Compose for more information.
- Trash is where messages are moved when you delete them. This is convenient to ensure that you don’t remove any messages from the server in error. To empty the Trash folder and permanently remove its contents, click “Empty Trash” below the folder listing to the left in Webmail, and confirm the operation by clicking [OK] in the dialog box that appears. You can also permanently delete individual messages from Trash by using the Delete button on checked messages already located in the Trash folder.
Note: By clicking on the header “New”, you will get a list of all new (unread) messages in all folders.
The folder list and the folder action buttons are present on all Webmail pages. Use the buttons and functions in the folder pane to organize your messages:
- Move messages: To move messages to another folder, select the messages by clicking anywhere in the message row (except for the links) and drag them to the desired folder. In the Basic Webmail version, click the radio button next to the folder you want the messages moved to, and then click the [Move messages] button.
You can use the Shift key to select multiple messages simultaneously, and select all the messages by checking the box at the very top of the list.
- Create folder: To create a new folder, enter the desired name in the field and click [Create]. The folder will be created inside the currently selected folder, or at the root level if your email address at the top of the folder list is selected.
A folder name can be up to 128 characters long and can contain the following characters: a-z, A-Z, 0-9, *, _, -, and ” ” (space).
- Rename folder: To rename a folder, click its folder name (or its radio button in Basic Webmail), enter its new name in the text field, and click [Rename].
- Delete folder: You can only delete a folder from the Folder Management page.